SSDL Network

Scientific Committee

The SSDL Network is operated by the Network Secretariat and advised by the SSDL Scientific Committee. The Committee was established in 1984 and the members are rotated every 5 years. The Scientific Committee meetings are organized biennially. During these meetings the work done in the Dosimetry and Medical Radiation Physics section is reviewed and recommendations for the future work is given by the Committee.

The members of the current Scientific Committee are the following:
BIPM: Dr David Burns, representing the Bureau International des Poids et Mesures (BIPM);
China: Dr Zhang Jian, National Institute of Metrology (NIM), China;
USA: Dr David Followill as Chair, MD Anderson, USA;
Algeria: Dr Mehenna Arib, SSDL, King Faisal Specialist Hospital and Research Centre, Saudi Arabia;
UK: Dr John Dickson, University College London Hospital, UK;
Belgium: Dr Jan Seuntjens, McGill University Health Centre, Canada;
ICRU: Dr Maria-Ester Brandan, representing the International Commission on Radiation Units and Measures (ICRU);
Co-Secretaries: WHO (Adriana Velazquez Berumen) and IAEA (Debbie van der Merwe)
Rapporteur: Dr Penelope Allisy, retired from BIPM

Scientific Committee Members

The members of the Committee present in person at the 19th Scientific Committee meeting: (from left) David Followill (Chair), Jan Seuntjens, Maria-Ester Brandan, Penelope Allisy (Rapporteur), Mehenna Arib, John Dickson and David Burns